Wheat is an up and coming food allergy, if you take into consideration Celiac Disease (although the two are different). I recently read that the wheat we consume today is no longer native (as is also the case with corn). Wheat has become modified enough over the decades that you can no longer find a pure wheat from centuries gone by. (This is one theory behind the increase in the intolerance of wheat.)
With this growing trend, it is important to know your wheat ingredients. Remember, always read your labels, even if the product has been safe in the past (Manufacturers are required by law to indicate on labels if wheat is present.).
- flour (all-purpose, bread, cake, durum, enriched, graham, high gluten, high protein, instant, pastry, self-rising, soft wheat, steel ground, stone ground, whole wheat)
- bread crumbs
- cereal extract
- club wheat
- crackers, cracker meal
- hydrolyzed wheat protein
- matzoh/matzo/matzah/matza, matzoh meal
- sprouted wheat
- vital wheat gluten
- wheat (berries, bran, durum, germ, gluten, grass, malt, sprouts, starch)
- wheat bran hydrosylate
- wheat germ oil
- wheat grass
- wheat protein isolate
- whole wheat berries
May Contain Wheat:
- artificial flavoring, natural flavoring
- caramel color
- glucose syrup
- soy sauce
- starch (gelatinized starch, modified starch, modified food starch, vegetable starch)
- teriyaki sauce
- textured vegetable protein
- Oats may be contaminated with wheat due to agricultural cultivation practices. You can find guaranteed gluten-free oats on the market.
- Unless otherwise noted, “starch” on a food label means corn starch.
See Substitutions for alternatives to wheat.
Are there any wheat ingredients that you can think to add to this list?